FOOD FORESTRY

TRAINING PROGRAM

Denver Urban Gardens’ Food Forestry Training Program is a 15-session, hands-on and classroom-based, training course in designing, planting, and maintaining edible forest gardens in the urban setting.

The program coursework involves extensive education on species selection, soil amendment, planting, pruning, disease and pest management, and many more strategies for establishing thriving perennial edible crops in a dry climate. With a focus on practical skill-building, most sessions will be at existing DUG Food Forest locations, participating directly in the program. 

Participants will get the training and experience necessary to embark on a variety of post-program pathways, including potential paid opportunities through DUG and starting small businesses in tree and land care. 

The integration with existing food forest sites will allow graduates to take a leadership role within the program, or even be hired as paid site stewards for DUG community partners. There is a growing need for skilled care of trees and perennials around the Denver Metro area, and this course aims to fill that gap and to build a corps of people to address a wide range of needs in the area of green livelihoods.

On-site work will vary across locations within the DUG food forest network, with other classes being held at Denver Urban Gardens’ headquarters at The Horse Barn, located at 1031 33rd Street in the Posner Center for International Development in Denver.  

The cost for participation in the Food Forestry program is $150.00. If cost is a barrier for you, please let us know what you can afford to pay.

Applications for the 2024 program have closed.

REQUIRED 2024 TRAINING DATES

SESSION DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
1 Monday 2/26/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Posner Center
2 Monday 3/4/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
3 Monday 3/11/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
4 Monday 3/18/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
5 Monday 4/1/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Posner Center
6 Monday 4/15/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
7 Monday 4/29/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
8 Monday 5/13/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Nursery
9 Monday 6/3/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
10 Monday 7/8/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Posner Center
11 Monday 8/12/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
12 Monday 9/16/2024 4:30-7:30 pm Location TBD
13 Saturday 9/28/2024 9:00 am -1:00 pm Location TBD
14 Saturday 10/12/2024 9:00 am-1:00 pm Location TBD
15 Monday 10/21/2024 6:00-8:00 pm Posner Center (Graduation)