In partnership with Denver’s Office of Climate Action, Sustainability & Resiliency, Denver Urban Gardens offers free classes in composting several times a month throughout spring, summer, and fall.

All public compost classes are hosted at the compost demonstration site at the DUG Gove Compost Demonstration Site located at 1325 Colorado Blvd. Please utilize parking on Harrison and 13th streets. The garden is west of Colorado Blvd. 

Each compost class is a two-hour, hands-on workshop in the basics of backyard composting. Worm Workshops are special classes that cover vermicomposting techniques.

PLEASE NOTE:
  • All participants must register. We are not accepting walk-in attendees.
  • If you cannot make the class, please email us at dirt@dug.org so that we can open your spot to another person. 

REGISTER FOR A CLASS

Click the button to register for an upcoming class. We publish course registration about 1 month in advance of course dates. Please check back according to the dates listed in the 2022 schedule.

Note: If you don’t see a particular date available on the registration form, it is because the class is already full.

REGISTER FOR A JUNE CLASSREGISTER FOR A JULY CLASS

2022 SCHEDULE 

May

Sunday, May 1 | 2 pm – 4 pm
Wednesday May 4 |  6 pm – 8 pm
Saturday May 7 Vermicomposting | 9 am – 11 am
Wednesday May 11 |  6 pm – 8 pm
Saturday May 14 | 9 am – 11 am
Wednesday May 18 | 6 pm – 8 pm
Saturday May 21 | 9 am – 11 am

June

Wednesday June 1 | 6 pm – 8 pm
Saturday June 4 Vermicomposting | 9 am – 11 am
Wednesday June 8 | 6 pm – 8 pm
Saturday June 11 | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday June 25 | 9 am – 11 am

July

Saturday July 9 Vermicomposting | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday July 16 | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday July 23 | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday July 30 | 9 am – 11 am

August

Saturday August 6 Vermicomposting | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday August 13 | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday August 20 | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday August 27 | 9 am – 11 am

September

Saturday September 10 Vermicomposting | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday September 17 | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday September 24 | 9 am – 11 am

October

Saturday October 1 Vermicomposting | 9 am – 11 am
Saturday October 8 | 9 am – 11 am